top of page

Dr. Morrissey, Principal Investigator 

Ember Morrissey.jpg

Postdoctoral Scholars

Binu Tripathi


Binu is working on an NSF funded project investigating the ecological strategies and decomposition activity of microbes in soil. He is also interested in microbial biogeography and metagenomic analyses. 

Jen Kane

Image (3)_edited.jpg

Jen is a USDA Postdoctoral Fellow studying in microbial ecology, soil carbon storage, and plant-microbe interactions. Her research includes studies of plant -microbe interactions in the rhizosphere of bioproduct crops and the biodiversity of canopy soils.   

Find out more about Jen and her research by visiting her website:

Graduate Students

Chansotheary Dang 

Chanso is a PhD candidate interested in all things microbial, especially how microorganisms contribute to soil carbon sequestration.

Ronnie Schartiger


Ronnie is a PhD student studying plant microbe interactions in the rhizosphere of bioenergy crops.

Kinsey Reed


Kinsey is a PhD candidate studying pasture diversity and soil health on farms across West Virginia.

Tanner Hoffman

Eric Goddard


Tanner is a PhD student studying the the effects of climate change on microbial interactions and soil carbon cycling. 


Eric is a PhD student studying the effects of organic amendments on soil microbes, nutrient cycling, and plant microbe interactions in organic agriculture. 

Research Technician


Kayla Guthrie

Undergrads !

Image from iOS.jpg

Hannah Bentley 


Ivelysse Gracia


Rebecca Ozbolt


Damon LeMaster

IMG_1441 (1).jpg

Jillian Vance


Aidan Aird


Bret Jutze


  • Jeth Walkup, M.S., Ph.D., 2016-2023

  • Md Shafiul Islam Rion, M.S., 2021-2023

  • Rachel Winslett, Undergrad, Technician, 2019-2023

  • Zachary Moats, Undergrad, 2022-2023

  • Teagan Kuzniar, Undergrad, 2019-2023

  • Jennifer Kane, Ph.D., 2019-2022

  • Gregory Martin, Ph.D., 2020-2022

  • Kieran Liseski, M.S., 2019-2021

  • Juan Pineiro Nevado, Postdoc, 2019-2021

  • Chao Wang, Visiting Scholar, 2019-2020

  • Rachel Michaels, M.S., 2019-2020

  • Rene Miller, M.S., 2016-2018

  • Clark Robinson, Undergrad, 2019-2021

  • Nathaniel Beck, Undergrad, 2017-2018

  • Logan Webb, Undergrad,2017-2019

  • April Kessel, Undergrad,2017-2019

Created by Ember Morrissey. Proudly created with

bottom of page